Today’s post will be a bit shorter than most…due to myriad things, but mainly to exhaustion…but, I do have two moments of joy from my day to share with you all!

The first happened this morning. The way my school is set up, the kids enter class anytime between 8:00 and 8:45…I always have two girls that are my first arrivals, and usually are the only ones for about 10 minutes. They happen to be sitting in a group together at the moment, and are usually quiet and working…so I get last minute planning and such done for the day as they self-manage well. This morning, as I was sitting at the back table searching for ideas on my iPad, I hear this soft little giggle from across the room. I looked up, more curious than anything, and see the girls working while quietly chatting about something. I go back to my search, and hear the giggles again a few minutes later. Again, curious, I looked up and overhear one of the girls saying, ‘Stop. She’s going to notice.’ I just shook my head, smiled, and went on with my day. These are two girls that I don’t worry about…they’re great kids, and I’m happy that they’re connecting!

The second moment of joy is happening gradually. We are currently in our third round of reading assessments for the year, and while all of my kids have gained at least one level, some have not grown as much as I would have liked or hoped. But, I have a few students who have just blossomed this year and are growing so much! They have passed the initial levels I reasoned them to be at, and I am having to retest them at higher levels. This is never a problem in my book…and I’m excited about the kiddos that they are! Two were EAL students just last year…and the other started much lower than the rest, and has quickly caught up and is starting to surpass some of her classmates.

I know it’s only the second day of actively looking for joy in the day-to-day, but I already feel a slight turn in my perspective and attitude. I just hope and pray that He will continue to solidify this change in me…also that it would last and shine through to those around me!

SOLSC 2014

20140319-202359.jpg

About teachlovetravel

I am a teacher who loves languages, traveling and adventure. I'm teaching overseas in an international school, and traveling every chance I can afford! He has blessed me in many ways, and I cannot imagine my life anywhere else.

4 responses »

  1. Nf says:

    When I moved schools one of the things I struggled with was how early the kids arrived, and how they just hung around in the classroom until the bell rang. Yet what started as a frustration, mostly because I had things to get done, became one of the best parts is my day… Especially when the kids came in discussing books!!!

  2. Adrienne says:

    Two very lovely slices from your day. We had a very quiet reserved, girl knock it out of the park with her speech on Frida Kahlo. I’m sure my eyes were bugging out of my head , she was so confident.

  3. aggiekesler says:

    Love the little moments you share from your classroom! Makes me wish that I was a teachers again! 😉

  4. I love when you look for joy…it seems to appear more and more!

Leave a Reply

