Tonight my post is going to be a short one as I’m sore, tired and in desperate need of giving in to unconsciousness. It was one of those days where everything seems to be going fairly well…the kids are working hard to get stuff done (even though they’re working on the same thing pretty much all day), you get to learn how to play (and realize how not-so-easy it is) badminton after work for a refreshing change, and you’re on your way to see a good friend when life throws some unexpected excitement your way.

Suffice it to say, I was on my way to a friend’s house after work on my scooter. I was driving the same route I always do…and being as careful as I always am. Next thing I know this guy, who is clearly talking to the person next to him and not looking at where he is going, drifts into the path of my scooter. I laid on my annoying little horn, but it was already too late to do much of anything…and next thing I know, he hits me head on.

While we both walked away (myself with a few minor bruises and knots), our bikes had become rather entangled…so I had to sit there with several Chinese people all around me clearly acting like it was my fault and I should pay top dollar (or yuan in this case) for it. I immediately called a good Chinese friend to come to my aid as I had no idea what was happening and don’t speak enough of the language to manage this type of situation…

…Approximately 1.5 hours later, I walk out of the police station, 600 RMB poorer, my bike looking worse than it actually is, and coming down off of an adrenaline high. I’m alive, I’m considerably better off than I could be, I’m exceptionally grateful to my friend for coming to my rescue, and I’m going to bed.

Goodnight.

SOLSC 2014

20140313-220617.jpg

About teachlovetravel

I am a teacher who loves languages, traveling and adventure. I'm teaching overseas in an international school, and traveling every chance I can afford! He has blessed me in many ways, and I cannot imagine my life anywhere else.

4 responses »

  1. valsgalore says:

    At first I was startled to see you travel to work on a scooter. Not many people do that (around here, at least)! But then you started talking about Chinese people, and I realized you must not be in my country. And not in your own, either, apparently. How hard it must be to face a situation like that when you have a language barrier to deal with on top of everything else! Here’s hoping today is a better day!

  2. Wishing for a better tomorrow! So glad you’re ok!!

  3. aggiekesler says:

    This is China, right?!? So glad you’re safe and only minority hurt. Maybe invest in a louder, more annoying horn- you know they have them here!! 🙂

  4. aggiekesler says:

    minority should be minorly…lol

Leave a Reply

